Perkins basic maintenance

Front Page Forums PaNNTOA Forum Maintenance Perkins basic maintenance

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Tom Easterbrook Tom Easterbrook 2 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    KCorliss
    Participant

Greetings all –

I have a (new to me) NT 26 with a Perkins 4.236.  The tug is on a trailer and in E-WA, however Anacortes is our planned primary departure point.  I am looking for teaching resources: someone to teach me the ‘basic maintenance’ of this engine and related systems.  I am interested in things like changing fuel filter, raw water pump maintenance, etc. as well as “things one should know how to do in an emergency”.  I’m a fair mechanic (built/fly my aircraft) and have a basic (ag background) understanding of diesel systems.  I’m looking for a mentor/teacher and/or video resources.  Happy to pay for services – alternatively I work for a winery and have trading stock…

thanks,

Kevin Corliss

NT 26 “Seaforth”

Prosser, WA

Tom Easterbrook
    Tom Easterbrook
    Participant

Hi Kevin and welcome to the NT family.

I cannot personally help you as I live too far away and am not familiar with that particular engine (although my former boat, a sailboat, had a Volvo in it that was basically a marinized Perkins).